Luana gets some bum info from Dell

Luana gets some bum info from Dell
Reading your info Premium #601, I find that having a Windows 7 computer, I will be able to get a free upgrade to Windows 10. How do I get this upgrade? I purchased my computer from Dell and when talking to a Dell rep I was told there was no free upgrade to a Windows 10. So, I would appreciate your advice on how to get the free upgrade. I am glad to read that it will be closer to the XP which I had for so many years and really liked. During those years, I learned many good tips from you and also used your repair service for it. I still have 2 service keys which I keep on hand just in case I need your help again. Thank you for all you have done to help me and I hope you can give me the info on the free upgrade to Windows10. Blessings and good health to both of you.

Our answer
Hi Luana and thanks so much for your nice comments.

Dell has nothing to do say about whether you can upgrade to Windows 10 or that’s it will be free – it’s a Microsoft decision, but maybe the Dell employee meant that you wouldn’t get it free from Dell. However, in any case, it’s scary that Dell has people on its staff who don’t have a clue what’s going on in the world of technology. It’s been common knowledge for several months now that Windows 10 will be a free upgrade for both Windows 7 and Windows 8x users. And, according to Microsoft, it will be a straight upgrade, that is when you upgrade to Windows 10 from either Windows 7 or Windows 8x you’ll keep all your personal files, settings, programs, etc. The offer of a free upgrade to Windows 10  is good for one year from the official release date, which now is scheduled for sometime in July 2015. Also, according to Microsoft, if a program works on Windows 7 or Windows 8x, it will also work on Windows 10.

You will get Windows 10 automatically (if you choose) via Windows Updates or you can download it directly from Microsoft. We’ll have more details on that when we get closer to the launch of Windows 10 in July of this year. But don’t worry, it won’t be hard to get, by the time it comes out  we’ll all be sick of reading about it and hearing about how to get it free.

Leave a comment